Ph: 0821-297 2917

Admissions open for 2020-21


A Unit of Maharaja Education Trust (R) Mysore

Maharaja Institute of Technology Thandavapura

(Approved by AICTE New Delhi & Affiliated to VTU Belgavi)

(Certified by ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 21001:2018 )


(I) Click Here to Visit Grievance Redressal Page

(II) Anti-Sexual Harassment Committee.

On 13th August 1997, the Supreme Court of India held that sexual harassment of women is a violation of the fundamental right of women to work in a safe environment. The Supreme Court has defined 'sexual harassment' to include

  • Physical contact and advances
  • Demand or request for sexual favors
  • Sexually colored remarks
  • Display of pornography
  • Any other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of a sexual nature.

What should you do if you are sexually harassed?

  • Do not feel ashamed. Tell the harasser very clearly that you find his behavior offensive.
  • Do not ignore the harassment in the hope that it will stop on its own. Come forward and complain to the Complaint Committee.
  • Talk to somebody you trust about the harassment.It will not only give you strength but also help others in similar situations to come forward and complain.
  • Keep a record of all incidents of sexual harassment.If you feel the need to register a formal complaint later, this record will be helpful.

The Role of the Committee

  • To act as Inquiry Authority on a complaint of sexual harassment.
  • To ensure that victims and witnesses are not victimized or discriminated because of their complaint.
  • To take proactive measures towards sensitization of the staff, students and faculty members of IIT Madras on gender issues.

Composition of the committee and squad

Mrs. Lakshmi Durga Ph: 94817 11509
Mrs. Vinutha H V Ph: 87488 73074
Dr. Nagendra Prasad B C Ph: 99166 15147
Mr. Shankar N Upadhay Ph: 99863 91614

(III) Anti Ragging Committee.

In view of the directions of the Honorable Supreme Court in SLP No. 24295 of 2006 dated 16-05-2007 and in Civil Appeal number 887 of 2009, dated 08-05-2009 to prohibit, prevent and eliminate the scourge of ragging, in exercise of the powers conferred under Section 23 read with Section 10 (b), (g), (p) and (g) of AICTE Act, 1987, the All India Council for Technical Education has notified regulation for prevention and prohibition of ragging in AICTE approved technical Institutions vide No. 37-3/Legal/AICTE/2009 dated 01.07.2009 . All AICTE approved technical Institutions has to comply the provision made in the above regulation.

Procedure for Approaching Committee

The Committee deals with issues relating to sexual harassment at MIT Thandavapura. It is applicable to all students,staff and faculty. A complaint of discrimination or sexual harassment may be lodged by the victim or a third party. A written complaint may be addressed to the Chairman of the Committee. Committee members may forward it to the Director of the institution against Sexual Harassment.Here it should be noted that according to the Supreme Court guideline Sexual harassment can be defined as "unwelcome" sexually determined behaviour (whether directly or by implication) as:

  • Physical contact and advances
  • Demand or request for sexual favours;
  • Sexually coloured remarks
  • Other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of a sexual nature. (Vishaka judgment by Supreme Court)

The following is also sexual harassment and is covered by the committee:

  • Eve-teasing,
  • Unsavory remarks,
  • Jokes causing or likely to cause awkwardness or embarrassment,
  • Innuendos and taunts
  • Gender based insults or sexist remarks
  • Unwelcome sexual overtone in any manner such as over telephone (obnoxious telephone calls) and the like,
  • Touching or brushing against any part of the body and the like,
  • Displaying pornographic or other offensive or derogatory pictures, cartoons, pamphlets or sayings
  • Forcible physical touch or molestation

Composition of the committee and squad

The Committee consists of members of the faculty, administration, service staff. The members of the committee for the current academic year are:

Composition of the committee and squad

Mr. Sachin S Ph: 90368 69569
Mr. Sreyas C Ph: 99005 01319
Mr. Ajay Kumar K Ph: 98865 01743
Mrs. Chaithra B C Ph: 90607 17873